Filing a claim if you’re in a rideshare accident is not much different from any other auto accident claim. You have to prove damages such as medical expenses, bodily injury, lost wages, and pain and suffering and show who was responsible for the accident just as you would if you were in a collision while driving your own vehicle.
However, if your accident happens when paying a contracted driver who works for a rideshare company such as Lyft or Uber, navigating who is liable for the damages can be challenging.
Read on to learn what to expect when filing a rideshare accident claim and how the rideshare accident attorneys at Catalano Law can help you navigate the complex laws and insurance rules to get compensation.
Getting into an auto accident is a stressful and scary situation, even and especially as a passenger. But following a few essential steps after a crash can ensure you are safe and help in the success of your insurance claim.
- Get Medical Help
After an accident, the first thing to do is seek medical attention. Even if you feel fine, it’s essential to be checked by a medical professional to ensure you are not injured in some way that will only become obvious hours or days later, such as soft tissue damage, internal damage, or concussion.
Seeking medical help immediately will also allow you to report your injuries and get documentation that your injuries happened due to the crash.
- Report the Accident
Report the accident to the police and the rideshare company as soon as possible. Per Section 605 of New York State and Vehicle Traffic Law, you must report an accident to the police if someone was killed or injured or the damage to property or an individual exceeds $1,000.
Most insurance companies also require you to inform them of an accident to receive coverage. You’ll need to report the incident in order to receive personal injury protection (PIP) benefits or file a claim with the driver’s or rideshare company’s insurer.
- Collect Information
Collect information from the driver of your vehicle and any others involved, along with the names of witnesses if possible. Write down their name, driver’s license number, license plate, phone number, and any contractor ID numbers provided by the rideshare company.
- Note Everything You Can About the Crash
While it’s still fresh in your mind, write down everything you remember about the collision, such as what you were doing, what the driver was doing, and what other drivers were doing on the road.
If you can, take photos and videos of the scene. Pictures of the vehicles, your injuries, and the accident scene can help paint a picture during the claims process.
The main reason rideshare accident claims can get so complex is that multiple insurance companies may be responsible for the damages. Depending on the cause of your accident, you may be able to seek compensation from your PIP insurance, the driver’s liability insurance, the rideshare company’s insurance, or from a third-party driver who caused the accident.
Getting help from an experienced attorney at Catalano Law can save you the confusion of knowing where to file a claim.
- Rideshare Company Insurance
New York State requires ridesharing companies to provide insurance for drivers, including Personal Injury Protection benefits, to compensate accident victims. Most rideshare companies, including Uber, maintain third-party liability insurance for up to $1 million for accidents en route to or during trips with passengers.
- Rideshare Driver’s Insurance
Many rideshare drivers are independent contractors who are required to have insurance coverage before they can work on behalf of the company. If you believe your driver’s actions caused the accident, you may seek compensation from their liability insurance.
A skilled rideshare lawyer from Catalano Law can investigate your accident to determine if the driver is a contractor, whether they caused your injuries, and if seeking a settlement from their insurance is your best legal option.
- At-Fault Driver’s Insurance
If another driver is found to have caused the accident, you may be able to file a claim against that driver. Typically, New York State’s no-fault law means the insurance of the person driving will cover those in the car and not any other vehicle.
However, if you suffered from and can prove serious injury, you may be able to get additional compensation to help cover costs associated with your accident that PIP doesn’t cover.
If you are in an accident in a rideshare vehicle, contact the knowledgeable rideshare accident lawyers at Catalano Law. Our attorneys understand the complex rideshare laws and insurance policies in New York State and can help you get the compensation you deserve so you can relax and focus on your recovery.
With our no-fee guarantee, you owe us nothing unless we win a settlement or verdict for your claim. Contact us today for a free consultation to get started on your case.